See http://www.sitepoint.com/google-closure-how-not-to-write-javascript/

The author clearly knows his JS. However, I remember my youth when I was so proud about my C++ skills and when an expert C++ developer always had to check the juniors’ code (I’m not proud anymore about that period, I’m an expert C++ developer but I use the language only when it’s really needed).

The questions I had regarding C and C++ a while ago arise again.

For example, in JS is seems one has to bother with the speed of the switch statement. Can’t the interpreter optimize the statement? Probably not, since the language is so “dynamic” one can shoot himself in both legs and in the arm and so on …

The article is quite old, but I don’t think the issues are gone. One Java or .NET skilled developer cannot simply write JS code “thinking in Java or C#”, he needs to wrap his mind around the sick mindset of the people behind JS.

