As we’re moving forward with our web application I’m getting more and more frustated with the web technologies. I’ve got accustomed to the freedom of thought given by XAML and the inner peace given by the .NET/C# tandem: the customer asks for it? No problem, worse case scenario is we use a Windows hook and we’re done.

With HTML I’m having discussions with my developers on a daily basis and every time I have to put in a lot of effort to talk them into implementing a simple feature. Just think drag and drop in a web page … it should be easy, but it’s not, especially since web developers come with a certain mindset. Components? User controls? Wait for Ember and Angular to improve, buddy …

Also, any “model” and “viewmodel” must be implemented with JS and some immature libraries; a simple data structure as a tree can force the entire team into discussing for a few hours until the good solution comes up. Hey, it’s JS …

Now, that I’ve steamed off, I’ll get back to work. I’m getting more and more into managing the team instead of actually implementing code. And I like it 🙂

One of my coworkers (not in my team) put it this way a few days ago: “if it’s HTML, I’ll only manage the team, I do not want to learn this technology”. I thought about it for a while and now I tend to agree with him: HTML/JS/CSS is not fun at all for the project manager.

